A Man Was Diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, and He Managed to Turn the Condition Around by Getting Involved with Volunteering

A Man Was Diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, and He Managed to Turn the Condition Around by Getting Involved with Volunteering

Here we have, an unexpected “cure” for Alzheimer’s Disease, from the papers, translated…

An Eighty-Seven Year Old Taught Japanese, and He’s Working to Get His Master’s Degree

Lin is currently eighty-seven years old, fifteen years ago, when he drove, he kept on having small car crashes and accidents, and, he couldn’t call out the names of the members of his families either, he thought, that he may have dementia.  He wasn’t willing to let the disease take over his life, so, he’d walked out of his house, started volunteering, taught Japanese, and studied in the elderly university programs, not only was he able to fend off dementia, he is now, working on his graduate degree in philosophy at Nanhua University, and made the goals of earning his Master’s Degree too.

The changes in his life allowed Lin to understand that giving is better than receiving, “my good health is a blessing from the heavens, I will keep on studying, keep on volunteering, until my last breath is up.”

Showing Concerns for the Less Fortunate, Helped Kick-Start His Volunteering Career

Lin is from Dalin, Chiayi, he was educated using Japanese methods when he was in the elementary years, even though life had been hard on him, he’d never given up on his studies, he’d part-timed through his high school career, and started working for the Taiwan Sugar Company, and, worked his way up to section manager, and retired at the age of sixty-three.

On the year he’d turned fifty-one, Lin saw a story of a man who was in a car wreck, lost his sight and couldn’t work, his wife abandoned him with his three young sons.  After he’d gone to visit the family, he’d encouraged the man to get back on his feet, and, gave him money to help him stand back up.

This particular experience of helping someone out initiated his drive to sponsor children from the poverty stricken places, he and his mother and wife had donated a total of $300,000N.T., and became the permanent sponsor of the Children’s and Family Welfare Organization; in the introduction of his friends, he’d also became a guidance counselor at the Chiayi District Attorney’s office, to help those released inmates get a new start on life.

In Discovering of His Alzheimer’s, It’s Helped Him Put Himself Out into the World Even More

“As I was told that I’d become demented, I felt so awful and unwilling,” Lin said, that on the year he was seventy-three, he would doze off at the lights while driving, and had small car wrecks, in the end, he was accompanied by his family, and was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and got his “handicapped card.”

Lin smiled and told, “I’d decided to put myself out there, to teach the elderly in the community Japanese, to accompany those elderly who lived along, it’d given me a ton of self-confidence, and now, I’m in grad school, I’d do my homework assignments every single day, and, my children would type up my reports using computer too.”

Lin said, that the younger generations of Chiayi had gone to the urban areas, and, the population makeup in the areas is mostly of elderly people.  When he’d taught Japanese to the elderly, he’d used the views of “making use of what is learned”, gathered up his students, to visit and show cares to the elderly who lived along in the areas, and set up the Da-Lin station of the Hong-Dao Elderly Foundation, and is in charge of the executive functions of this newly set up branch.

Lin and his group would go visit the elderly at home once every week, accompany them on strolls; if the elderly who were visited had the energies, he’d encourage the person to join his community, to help show cares and concerns to other elderly.  “Hearing someone tell me ‘thank you’, I don’t feel it’s tiresome at all.”

Lin’s studies, as well as volunteering, had all be encouraged by his kids.  His daughter, Shu-Rong Lin smiled and told, that her sixty-year-old second eldest brother and sister-in-law would drop her father off to school every single day, in the end, they were both affected and started taking the graduate classes as well, that her father is a spiritual guide for the whole family.

And, this man, because he didn’t want to just deteriorate away, he’d trained himself, made himself live a more active lifestyle, and, because his brains was stimulated, the symptoms of his dementia went away, and now, he’s passing the kindness, to show cares and concerns to other elderly in the population.

An Eighty-Eight Year Old Man Who Volunteer with His Wife

Chang is eighty-eight, is the most elderly volunteer in the hospital.  Fifteen years ago, he saw his wife having a good time, volunteering at the hospital, and a year later, he’d followed in her footsteps.  This year, he’d volunteered for 8,920 hours, and was awarded the national volunteer’s Gold plate award.  Lin looked at her husband and smiled, “You got into volunteering later than I, and you’re working even harder, I’m amazed by you.”

Chang originated from Jiangsu, China, before he retired, he’d worked in the hair salons.  After he’d started working in Hong Kong when he was in his twenties, he met his wife, after they married, they moved to Taiwan, and started a hair salon, “the Shanghai Kowloon” Hair Salon, and, they’d worked side-by-side, and had once done the hair for the namely opera singers as well as the vice president’s wife’s too. Fifteen years ago, Chang found that his eyes are deteriorating and he didn’t have that much energy anymore, and discussed with Lin, and went into retirement, closed down their thirty-year-old shop.

Lived Their Days Full, as If They’re Still Working

Lin said, that before she’d retired, she’d made a wish that she wanted to volunteer at the hospitals, at first, it was only one day a week, then, she’d gotten more and more into it, and started working for five days a week.  Chang said, that his wife is not at home all day long, he was lonely and getting bored, started following his wife’s footsteps, and, found “how fun it is, to volunteer!”

The couple used the spirits of never taking a day off, from Monday to Friday, starting at nine in the morn, they’d rode their bicycles to the United Hospital’s Linseng Chinese Medicine branch to report for duty, to help get the heat packs for the patients; in the afternoons, they’d headed over to Ren-Ai Branch, and assisted the elderly to get their blood pressures measured, along with the vitals like heights and weights.  Lin who can speak English also helped the foreigners to fill out the forms, is a great assistant to the hospital.

The two of them would also work for the environmental branch of the Tzu-Chi Hospital, and entered into the safety patrol group of their area, to help out locally.  The two of them said, “It’s like we’re still working.”  But, the two of them would take the weekends off, to head outdoors, to invite friends to sing karaoke, to relax.  “We will keep on volunteering until we can’t do it anymore”.  The couple stated, that not only were they able to help others, they could also make friends, and make themselves feel better too.  they’d shared their lifestyle secrets, in the mornings, they’d have hot oatmeal, with a lot of blueberries, raisins, and, whatever it is they want, they’d add, it’s nutritious and savory.

And so, the key to live a healthy old age is still???  Oh yeah, remain ACTIVE, and this couple had found their driving force, giving back to the world, and, because they’re helping others, bringing values to their own lives, feeling satisfied of the assistance they’d given to those in need, that is the motivations, for them both, to keep on volunteering.

 

8,763 thoughts on “A Man Was Diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, and He Managed to Turn the Condition Around by Getting Involved with Volunteering

  1. I simply couldn’t go away your website prior to suggesting that I extremely
    loved the usual info a person provide for your guests? Is gonna
    be again steadily in order to check out new posts

  2. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wondering
    if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thank you!

    • Glad that from reading this, you’d increased your understanding of the subject area of dementia and Alzheimer’s disease, as it’s slowly, becoming a common illness of old age these days.

  5. Right here is the right site for everyone who wishes to understand this topic.

    You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject which has been written about for many years.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

    • Because the internet is a very unsafe place, as there are hackers everywhere online, and the surest way you can keep your stuff was by saving your writings on alternative hard drives like a thumbdrive or a flash drive that can be externally plugged into your work stations.

  6. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this
    website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m
    looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  7. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme.

    Bless you

    • I’m blogging on wordpress, using a theme called “Mystic River”, just sign up for a blogging account with a valid e-mail on the homepage to get started, they have various themes that you can select from to use to set up your blogs on here.

  8. Hello! I’ve been following your blog for a while now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent
    work!

  9. I’m curious to find out what blog system you are utilizing?
    I’m having some minor security problems with my latest site and I would like to find something more
    risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

    • The only way i can think of, of solving the issues of losing ALL your stuff with hackers is save your work on alternative disk drives, because there are NEVER any safe place online, because you will get hacked, no matter how careful you are, and, if you don’t save your work, then, you would’ve, lost EVERYTHING you did to a certain point.

  10. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem
    to be running off the screen in Ie. I’m not sure if this
    is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed
    soon. Thanks

  11. I do trust all the ideas you have presented on your
    post. They are really convincing and can definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for beginners. Could
    you please prolong them a little from next time?

    Thank you for the post.

  12. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to
    check out your website on my iphone during lunch
    break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your
    blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, very good blog!

  13. I as well ‘m a great aspiring web site copy writer although I’m however fresh to the whole thing. Are you experiencing just about any strategies for beginner blog internet writers? I’d actually love.

  14. I’m really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but
    looks great in Chrome. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

    • I really wouldn’t know, i got some complaints too, but, i’m using IE and my website appeared fine, so, i’m thinking, that your readers may need to adjust their separate internet browser settings???

  15. I just like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly.
    I am somewhat certain I’ll be told many
    new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

  16. Appreciating the dedication you put into your site and detailed information you provide.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.

    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  17. I’ve read a few good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.

    I surprise how so much effort you place to create this
    type of wonderful informative website.

  18. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after looking at some of
    the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back regularly!

    • The periodicals still shouldn’t be done away with, as a lot if the stuff we thumb across, here, on the Internet are opinions, not facts, and the news papers mostly report the facts.

  19. Hello! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does building a well-established website such as
    yours require a lot of work? I’m brand new to blogging
    however I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog
    so I can easily share my personal experience and
    feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

  20. Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed to be on the internet
    the simplest factor to take into accout of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst people consider issues that they
    just don’t recognise about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the highest and also outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  21. I simply couldn’t go away your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide to your visitors?

    Is gonna be back steadily in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  22. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I came across it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

Talk to Me...

