The Furniture Shop that Became a Major Part of My Childhood Years

Translated…

It contained my childhood memories, my being lost in the adolescent years, my aloofness of adulthood, as well as that sense of loss I carried, before I walk into midlife.

an antique furniture store, not my photo…

Shang-Jing Furniture Store is located next to Xing-Zhong Elementary School, it’d run for twenty-two years, and its location is now, erected into a mansion.  Before the furniture shop opened for business, my mother went in to work as an accountant, and so, during my elementary years, every now and then after school, I’d gone into the shops to find her.  There was an assortment of closets, dining room tables and chairs, head sets, mattresses, as well as the checker tables, plastic chairs too.  The most eye-opening, and my favorites, were the dozen displays of living room furniture.

It was, made up of a single chair, a love seat, a sofa, as well as a long table, an entire set of living room furniture.  From the cheaper materials of wooden boards, faux suede, to the real wood, the real animal skins, sitting down at any of the sofas, it’s like, you’re in a brand new living room.  I’d especially loved sitting on the leather couches, with the soft textures, sitting on top, it was like, I’m, sitting on the clouds.

But, my mother didn’t like it when I sat on the couches, and she’d always reprimanded me for it, at most, she would accept that I sit in the wooden chairs, but, sitting on those hard surfaces, what would be the fun in that?

not my photo…

In my middle and high school years, I’d passed by the furniture shop sometimes after school, and, in my growing body, there’s that scent of unmatched up nostalgia and confusion; after I started going to college, I’d made it home once every couple of months, and, the furniture shop became, a scene that passed by the windows so quick on my way home.

Two years ago, the owner sold the furniture shop, and my mother retired too.  Back then, I’d looked at the empty display place, then, looked down at my belly that’s protruding by the year, realized, how quickly my youth had, gone by.  The newly built mansions, had brand new occupants I didn’t know, they are here, to begin a brand new life, to make new memories now.  And the Shang-Jing Furniture Store, was still that majestic place, an oversized game room for me as a child; it’d transformed me in an instant, into a millionaire, reading the papers on the suede couch, or that handsome single man, sitting on the wood carved stools, steeping tea.

shop closing 的圖片結果not my sign…

I cherished those days of my childhood innocence so, missed those simpler days, and from here on out, I hope I can keep that state of mind I carried as a child, simple, keep on living my life.

So, this, is the place where many memories of your childhood were made and kept, and now, the shop’s closed, and, you feel unwilling to bid your own childhood days farewell, it’s expected, because after you’d grown attached to a place, it’s just, not at all, easy, to say goodbye…

4 thoughts on “The Furniture Shop that Became a Major Part of My Childhood Years

  1. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

Talk to Me...

