Someone I Can’t Reason With

On how to adapt to a man, who’d completely opposite of you in a marriage, translated…

My husband is excellent in EVERYTHING, but just, lacked that literariness. Although, it’s said, that we need to, adapt to the one we’re married to, but, as a liberal arts major, I can’t, seem to, reason with him, who’s, an engineering major form time to time, and, I’d felt often, that I’d, married, the wrong man.

Recalling just last month, my friend mentioned an elder she’d known, how he’d, bought a chunk of land, and, planted rice to past his time through his retirement. Right then and there, the verses of a poem came to mind, but unfortunately, I’d not had the time, to live in that moment of literary beauty, when my husband interrupted me, “Uh, how many square feet, is that chunk of land that so-and-so had again?”

And, all of a sudden, the literary beauties of what I’d pictured was, bombed to beyond recognition by my husband. And yet, that engineer-minded man seemed to not have noticed how he’d, destroyed my visions, pulled out his cell phone, googled, and mumbled to himself, “one acre is 62/3 Asian acres, so that would be, about six hundred square meters.” He’d, lifted his head, asked me, “you all say acres, what kind of acres, by standard, or by the city version? There’s, such huge difference between the two.”

I’d gotten angered and rolled my eyes, told him, “How the hell should I know!”, and, he’d, scratched his head, stated, “How can you not know, you’re, excellent, in Chinese!”

Come on, my beliefs about acres stayed in the poetry, and, from the imageries of poetry, I’d, gotten slammed against, the hard concrete, without even the time, to react to the pains from my fall, who CARES, which kind of acre it is!

But, there are those moments, when my clueless husband worked hard. Like a few days ago, I’d taken my children back to visit with my mother, my husband stayed in Kaohsiung on his own, and accidentally, started following “The Legends of Chien-Yueh”, a soap on the past dynasties. Toward how passionate he was of following the storyline, I’d, wished, that he could, become more literary from watching, or maybe, shove some of the romanticisms into his brains, so I don’t have to, get angered by him that much.

Then, before I go to bed last night, we’d, instant messaged before we go to bed, and, to the end, he’d sent me, “I’m, out of thoughts, will discuss later.”, and, that line had become, a grenade, thrown, into my mind. I’d asked you to take up the literary ways of the soaps, try to be like the male characters, in their gentle, soft natures toward the ladies, and yet, you’d not, learned any of that, instead, you’d, picked up on the insulting words (or maybe, I should feel rather glad, because he didn’t, pick up on how the character would become half-crazed in his pursue of meats and alcohol?), don’t know if I should, or shouldn’t, put up with this!

Ahhhhhh, I’m thinking, my small, literary heart, in this engineer’s trying me every single day, I will probably, never return to my days, of being, a Chinese language major.

This, is the interesting things that happens in a marriage, the woman is married to someone who’s completely opposite of her, and so, naturally, there’s bound to be moments that her husband will, get on her nerves, after all, engineers are focused on facts, reasons, while the liberal arts majored are more romantic, so, the collision of practicality and romanticism is found in this interaction here!

14 thoughts on “Someone I Can’t Reason With

  1. I am sure this article has touched all the internet viewers, its really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new weblog.

  2. Hey theгe! I coսld hаѵе sworn I’vе been to thіs website Ьefore Ьut ɑfter checking
    thrоugh some of tһе post Ι realizd it’s new to me.

    Anyѡays, I’m defіnitely һappy Ifound it andd I’ll be bookmarking ɑnd
    checking Ƅack frequently!

Talk to Me...

