So Good, with the Heart Still Beating…

On care-taking of an elderly pet, translated…

Dearest 20-year-old Cat Grandma, how are you?

From when you were thirteen, we’d made the scheduled trips of one visit to the vet per month, I’d always called this an “examination”.  The grade reports composed of the varied results of your health exams, most times, it’s ALL PASS, but every now and then, there would be, red marks, I, who was only accompanying you, would become more nervous than you, I clearly understood, that the ups and downs of the results don’t mean everything, but, as you grew older, I’d become, more scared easily, fearing that, I may not have, taken well enough care of you, that I may have, caused, irreparable damages.

not my photo…

Most people watched their blood pressures, so do elderly animals.  Every time it was the vet, who’d taken your blood pressures, to see, if the readings are, within the realms of norm, because if left untreated, the blood pressure would cause damages to your brain, heart, eyes, as well as, the kidneys too.  A year ago, your blood pressure hiked up and the vet started administering the medications for you, and kept you under close watch, to make sure, you have, the right doses.  The vet told me, once there’s an anomaly in the blood pressure reading, you’d needed to be on medication for life, especially for the aged animals, the reasons at one time doesn’t mean permanently.  Sometimes, you’d also needed your thyroid function checked (the T4), as well as ultrasound of your heart done too.  Gladly though, your BP had been, under control with the meds.

Every time the vet checked your heartrate, the monitor would start beeping.  With a fast tempo, like a march.  Every time I’d listened to it carefully, because I knew, the heart beating, is the most beautiful thing, and my most important mission, is to keep, this beautiful sound going.

heart monitor 的圖片結果not my picture still…

Recently, we’d bought a heart monitor, at the advice of the vet, and we’d, needed, to practice, counting your heartbeats regularly.  The tests at the hospital, because of how nervous you’d become, would increase, and the blood pressures rise, making recording down the correct digits even harder.  If you can, get the readings done, at a familiar setting, it can help the vet, make the correct diagnoses.

But when the machines were hooked up, I’d found this, wasn’t as easy as it looked.  Needing to find the heart with the stethoscope, to hear the rhythms clearly; and when I got to the right spot, I’d had a, difficult time, counting up the beats, which are, a whole lot faster, for felines than for man, to get the correct counts.  But, for you, I’d, needed to, overcome, to practice, to overcome my own beliefs.

Please, Grandma Kitty, promise me, you’ll, work as hard as I, to keep your heart beats continuing, not too fast, nor too slow, just, at the right tempo, of that, of the healthy heart of a cat, thump-thump-thump, thump, just keep that, wave-like fluctuation continuing on.

Taking care of an elderly animal IS nothing that should be taken lightly, especially as they’d get older, more and more health problems surfaces, and, you still needed to, cope with the fact, of how your beloved pets are, going to die before you.

Talk to Me...

